I’m a little confused on what the outcome of this scenario is – any help would be appreciated.

Let’s say I cast Turn Against on one my opponent’s creatures. So I would “Gain control of target creature until end of turn.” However If I use the ability of Eldrazi Displacer on the same creature after gaining control which says “Exile another target creature, then return it to the battlefield tapped under its owner's control.” Will this creature become mine forever?

I assume that the effect of Turn Against only applied to the first instance of the creature I targeted. Then when I use Displacer’s ability a new version on that creature is placed on the field and all equipment etc. is removed including effects from spells?

  1. After using Displacer’s ability will I be the “owner” of the targeted creature
  2. Will the creature return to my opponent at the end of my turn?

If this doesn’t make sense – please let me know.

Thanks, Ben


You won't ever become a creature's owner in a game if you already weren't.

108.3. The owner of a card in the game is the player who started the game with it in his or her deck. If a card is brought into the game from outside the game rather than starting in a player’s deck, its owner is the player who brought it into the game. If a card starts the game in the command zone, its owner is the player who put it into the command zone to start the game. Legal ownership of a card in the game is irrelevant to the game rules except for the rules for ante. (See rule 407.)

So, when you use Turn Against on a creature, you become its controller, not owner. If you used Eldrazi Displacer's ability on the same creature, it would return under your opponent's control, since he owns this creature.

To answer your second question, let's assume that you somehow retained control of the creature that you blinked with Eldrazi Displacer. The creature would not return to your opponent's control at the end of the turn. This is because an object that changes zones, even if it returns to the same zone it came form, becomes a completely new object every time it changes zones.

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence.

There are seven exceptions to this rule, and none of them apply here.

  • 2
    I added quite a bit of content to your answer in order to address the second question posed by the OP, because even though it turned out to be irrelevant in this case, the answer to the question is useful in other situations. Feel free to roll back my revision if you don't want it. – Rainbolt Jan 28 '16 at 17:28
  • 1
    @Rainbolt Thanks, improvements are always welcome. – Vilmar Jan 29 '16 at 7:02
  • 1
    To become owner of an opponent card you must start the game announcing you are going to play with ante. This happened mostly a long time ago, in Ancient 90'MTG games, and with cards like "Contract from below", or "Darkpact",or others allowing you to become owner (not only controller) of target card. – Massimiliano Nov 27 at 11:29
  • While you might not be an owner of a creature itself, you can be an owner of a token copy. – Nova Nov 28 at 5:55

The ruling on the card on the gatherer website says:

After the creature returns to the battlefield, it will be a new object with no connection to the creature that was exiled. It won’t be in combat or have any additional abilities it may have had when it was exiled. Any +1/+1 counters on it or Auras attached to it are removed, and any Equipment will no longer be attached.

So it will return to the battlefield under your opponents (it's owners) control because it will no longer have a connection to Turn Against being cast on it

  • Thanks for the reply - Sucks though as I thought I found an amazing strategy. – Consumer Tester Jan 28 '16 at 13:45
  • @ConsumerTester Even though you can't steal things permanently with displacer, you can get the "flicker and gain control indefinitely" by using cards like Cloudshift – Malco Nov 27 at 15:01

To answer a couple other parts of the question, any auras and equipments, when you gain control, stay on the creature, but are actually controlled by your opponent. Normally they can't do much, but it depends on the cards.

When you use the Displacer's ability, since it leaves the battlefield and returns as a "new card", the auras and equipments are unattached. This also does apply to spells targeting the creature. Once the blink is done, the original target of the spell is no longer there (now a new card) so it should fizzle.

  • Thanks for clearing that up for me. Displacer is my new favourite at the moment. – Consumer Tester Jan 28 '16 at 14:42

In such a situation, you are not the owner of the card - although you may control it - and you could not become owner of that card in no legal way.I remember that,in old MTG times (in 90's), it was possible to become owner - not controller only - of a target opponent's card. But it was possible only announcing you are playing with ante before start playing. Then, you are allowed to become owner of a card when some kind of card expressely told you this.It happened with old black cards like "Contract from below", or "Darkpact";with a Red Efreet I do not (now) remember his right name (maybe some kind of Storm Efreet?) or with others dealing with ante's or with opponent cards.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.