3

Hand Destruction's effect reads:

(Spell/Quick Play) Each player sends 2 cards from their hand to the graveyard, then each player discards 2 cards.

My question is simple: If I, or my opponent, have less than 2 cards in the hand, can I activate it? And also, will it resolve successfully if there's less than 2 cards on one's hand on its resolution time? (say, for example, if someone chains a trap which discards one card as a cost)

P.S.: There are old rulings from Upper Deck Entertainment that say it can't be activated, but they're not official anymore.

5

No. You cannot as it states specifically:

Each player sends 2

This means the number of cards is mandatory if any player has any less then the card cannot be activated.

On the other side, if a chained effect dropped you or an opponent to less than 2 cards in hand, then Hand Destruction would resolve without effect as the initial requirement is that you send 2 cards to the graveyard.

If it said up to 2 cards, then you would be able to use it.

  • I would just like to add that you can not activate it because it is a cost, which you can tell from the use of the word "then" right before the effect. – Kodarth6804 Jun 7 '16 at 16:45
  • thanks for that point @Kodarth6804. I haven't played yu-gi-oh properly for a while and I'd forgotten what the exact definition of a cost in card text was – Martin Glennon-Brown Jun 10 '16 at 7:36
0

No, hand destruction of "send two cards to the graveyard", is NOT a cost. It is an effect. However it does require two or more cards in hand to activate. As you cannot activate a card unless you can resolve it as well.

Now my question is, what if I had the cards "Hand destruction (quick play spell)", "Allure of darkness (normal spell)" Kuriboh (dark monster)", "Chain Strike (quick play spell)".

Now I activate allure of darkness -(chain)-> hand destruction -(chain)-> Chain strike

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.