0

In order to build a city you must have a settlement to upgrade, and enough resource for the upgrade.

However, are there any other requirements like having at least 3 settlements?

  • The two downvoters are welcome to have a voice in this comment section – Iancovici Mar 1 '16 at 15:51
  • if I had to guess why they downvoted you, i'd say it's because you asked an obvious question that is covered by the the rule book. Toon Krijthe was gracious enough to answer your question, but someone could have just as easily flagged your question. – holaymolay Aug 2 '16 at 3:14
  • @holaymolay, understood however when 6 people end up playing and 1 seems to claim a certain rule it is reassuring to verify in popular forums whether it's true or made-up house rule, – Iancovici Aug 2 '16 at 11:29
12

There's only one other requirement: You need to have a spare city in stock.

To summarize, all the requirements are:

  1. You need to have the required resources.
  2. You need to have a settlement on the board.
  3. You need to have a spare city in stock.
| improve this answer | |
  • 6
    Also in my playgroup, you can't be one point from winning, otherwise you'll win, your wife will be upset, and you'll be sleeping on the couch. YMMV. – corsiKa Feb 16 '16 at 17:48
  • @corsiKa why would your playgroup not allow someone to win by upgrading a city? – holaymolay Aug 2 '16 at 3:11
  • @holaymolay Oh you're allowed. But then you win. And if you win, she doesn't win. And if she doesn't win, it's couchtown population you. Capiche? – corsiKa Aug 2 '16 at 5:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.