For example, I have this hand. 3 coins, one market, one library. So first I play the market, then buy something with the coins (plus 1 coin from the market) and then play the library having nothing in my hand because I already used the coins and the market (so I draw seven cards or even more). Is that right?

  • 4
    In addition to the correct answer below; you seem to be misunderstanding a few things. You CANNOT play treasure cards in your action phase; you must wait until your buy phase. Also, you don't "buy things with Copper". Copper is a card that, when played, produces coin/money that you can spend, just like Market and Woodcutter do. In your buy phase, you play whatever treasure cards you want, then add up all coin you've produced this turn (from treasure cards + action cards), then buy what you want.
    – GendoIkari
    Feb 29 '16 at 17:48
  • @GendoIkari As an edge case, Black Market allows you to play treasure cards in the action phase. Feb 29 '16 at 22:08
  • @PhilipKendall So does Storyteller, but it didn't seem necessary to mention edge cases like this when explaining the very basics.
    – GendoIkari
    Mar 1 '16 at 5:24
  • @GendoIkar, thanks I do know that, I have played Dominion more than 20 times. I just wasn't sure about the buy and action phase order particularly in this case.
    – 8odoros
    Mar 1 '16 at 7:57
  • @8odoros: Remember ABC: Action phase, then Buy phase, then Cleanup phase.
    – jamesdlin
    Aug 25 '16 at 3:57

From the rules:

"The player must complete all of his Actions before he moves on to the Buy phase of his turn."

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.