I have a situation where a player chooses the Trader because it has 5 coins even though he has nothing to sell in the trading house. Can he do it?


Taken from the rules:

Implementing the action of a character is voluntary (exception: Captain)

Note: You can still choose Captain if you have no goods, the exception just means that if you pull Captain and have goods, you have to ship.

| improve this answer | |
  • 4
    this does not mean that you can't pick captain if you have no good – Andrey Mar 15 '11 at 13:27
  • 1
    Just to clarify even further, the other players get a chance to take the action of the role you choose, even if you elect not to. – thesunneversets Mar 15 '11 at 16:59


Choosing a role merely for it's privilege is a perfectly valid move. It may not always be wise to choose a role you cannot fully take advantage of but if you are really short on cash such a trade off may be warranted...

| improve this answer | |
  • 3
    as an addendum: This is also a good way to screw with your opponents. – My Turn Yet Mar 15 '11 at 15:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.