I have a situation where a player chooses the Trader because it has 5 coins even though he has nothing to sell in the trading house. Can he do it?

2 Answers 2


Taken from the rules:

Implementing the action of a character is voluntary (exception: Captain)

Note: You can still choose Captain if you have no goods, the exception just means that if you pull Captain and have goods, you have to ship.

  • 4
    this does not mean that you can't pick captain if you have no good
    – Andrey
    Commented Mar 15, 2011 at 13:27
  • 1
    Just to clarify even further, the other players get a chance to take the action of the role you choose, even if you elect not to. Commented Mar 15, 2011 at 16:59


Choosing a role merely for it's privilege is a perfectly valid move. It may not always be wise to choose a role you cannot fully take advantage of but if you are really short on cash such a trade off may be warranted...

  • 3
    as an addendum: This is also a good way to screw with your opponents. Commented Mar 15, 2011 at 15:57

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .