3

Using a specific example, Ancestral Statue.

I have played many different card games and they all have different rules regarding this ability. If I had no other permanents would Ancestral Statue return itself?

  • Note that you can choose Ancestral Statue to target itself even if you do have other non-land permanents. – Hackworth Mar 12 '16 at 9:22
  • 3
    Also note that Ancestral Statue doesn't target. – Michał Politowski Mar 12 '16 at 15:05
  • Look at the link you posted. Under "Rulings" it says exactly that. – Dennis_E Mar 13 '16 at 14:14
6

Since Ancestral Statue doesn't say "Return another nonland permanent, it is possible it will return it self if it is the only permanent you control when it enters the battlefield under your control.

"Another" is an important word; Invasive Species won't return itself.

| improve this answer | |
1

yes it can and in the case where it is the only non-land permanent, since it doesn't say you 'may' return, it actually forces you to return it to your hand. This is not an option, the ability is forced and therefore must be played.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.