0

Recently, I came upon an odd rule that states that a town/city placed in between two enemy roads "displaces" the enemy roads, now let's say there is a large stretch of road with only one town connected. And my opponent places a town in between my roads to "displace" it. Does the side not connected to my town get removed, or does it sit there?

In case you don't understand what I'm trying to say here. I'll provide a simple diagram and I'll restate the problem.

*---B-----#-------A-----

Ok, let's say the asterisk is my town and the hash key is the enemy town. And obviously the dashs are my roads.

Since the enemy town displaces the main road into two different sections(section B and section A). Does section A sit there? or is it removed from the game?

  • 4
    Possible duplicate of Breaking roads in Settlers of Catan – Toon Krijthe Mar 13 '16 at 8:46
  • @ToonKrijthe This is not a duplicate in any way shape or form, my question only mentions a particular circumstance that happens to be related to the Breaking Roads rule. Moreover, the question you mention also points to a particular circumstance that is completely unrelated to my circumstance. – HTMLNoob Mar 13 '16 at 10:09
  • Not entirely. If you have the longest road, and an enemy town breaks it in two. You have two road segments. It is possible that one of those segments is still te longest road. – Toon Krijthe Mar 13 '16 at 10:25
  • @ToonKrijthe Since road AB is displaced by the enemy town, does segment A get removed from the board because there is nothing connected to it(No towns/cities). – HTMLNoob Mar 13 '16 at 10:41
  • No it does not. You can even build settlements and road segments to it. – Toon Krijthe Mar 13 '16 at 10:45
3

Looking at http://www.catan.com/service/game-rules I can't find the word 'displace' so i'm not sure exactly what rule you are referring to. So I will answer your question by explaining what would happen quoting the rules.

Building a settlement.

You must meet 2 conditions when building a settlement: (1) Your settlement must always connect to 1 or more of your own roads. (2) You must observe the Distance Rule.

There is nothing there about removing roads from the map.

in the Longest Road section it states.

You can break an opponent’s road by building a settlement on an unoccupied intersection along his road!

This might apply in the example you have given. Your longest road length will no be either section A or B, depending which is longer. There is nothing in the rules about removing roads from the map here either.

  • Might want to specifically add that section A can still be built on; he can build more roads and settlements over there. – GendoIkari Mar 13 '16 at 12:36
  • I didn't cover that as the question was about if the road is in two section or is removed. As its not removed then all the usual rules for building settlements would still apply. – StartPlayer Mar 13 '16 at 20:15

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.