My girlfriend and I started playing Netrunner this weekend, and after our first game taking roughly 4 days, we're now enjoying it!

I'm assuming that I'm just being thick here, but the manual never actually states how many cards you get to access in R&D / HQ. It says what happens "When accessing multiple cards", so in our first game we just assumed it was a choice about whether you wanted to carry on accessing cards or not.

However, when we ran across The Maker's Eye, this method of play suddenly seemed wrong. Am I to assume that I only get to access ONE card from R&D/HQ unless I have a card that allows me to access more?


  • 1
    This is a genuine question which falls within stackexchange criteria. If you downvote it, say why. – darylknight Mar 16 '16 at 12:25
  • Not a problem with the question, but imagine if you could access as much as you wanted in R&D! Instant win if they're not running all their ice on it immediately or have a trap deck! – Samthere Mar 16 '16 at 12:39
  • 1
    Downvotes are for "not much research effort", not for off-topic questions. In this case, if you're getting downvotes, it is because people feel you should've seen it in the rules. I wouldn't sweat it, I've gotten plenty of downvotes for missing obvious things. – bwarner Mar 16 '16 at 13:38
  • @codeknight To post a question on stackexchange you need a computer and an internet access. These same resources can be used to access an electronic version of the rulebook. By searching that rulebook with "Ctrl-F" for the word "access" I have found the relevant rule in less than minute. You could find answer on your own, in a time comparable to the time you have spent on writing this question. Hence the downvote. – tsuma534 Mar 16 '16 at 14:03

It's in the official rulebook, under Access Phase in the section on Runs:

R&D: The Runner accesses the top card of R&D, and any upgrades in its root...

HQ: The Runner accesses one random card from HQ and any upgrades in its root...

Archives: The Runner accesses all cards in Archives and any upgrades in its root...

Remote Server: The Runner accesses all cards in the server.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.