1

I'm curious I started magic with my mother yesterday and she doesn't like house rules only official rules. Can I discard a card from my hand and draw a card from my library?

13

Discard at will? No. You either discard when instructed by a game rule (more cards than hand size at the end of your turn), when instructed by an ability (such as Enhanced Awareness's), or to pay a cost (such as for Rummaging Goblin's ability). If you aren't instructed to discard, you can't. Similarly, you can't just draw a card to replace any card you discard.

3

You only draw one card during your draw step. At the end of your turn, if you have more than 7 cards in hand, you must discard until you have 7 cards in hand. These are standard rules that always apply unless a spell or ability commands you to do otherwise. When discarding you are not allowed to redraw to replace the card unless a spell or ability allows you to do so. Library of Leng, Anvil of Bogarden, Grafted Skullcap, Heightened Awareness are examples of spells that affect how you draw and discard.

  • 1
    You can also discard a card to pay a cost (such as for Rummaging Goblin's ability). I'm not sure how to add that to your answer. – ikegami Mar 22 '16 at 12:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.