2

We all know by now that Cheat only allows you to use items you would not usually be able to use.

Is there anything in the rules to stop you from giving Cheat to a Monster, and if not, is "being a Monster" a condition that Cheat circumvents?

  • Are you asking if you can equip a monster to yourself to gain combat bonus by using a cheat card? Or are you asking if you can give equipment to a monster with a cheat card? I predicated my answer based on the first scenario, but I will add info for the second as well. – Robert Wertz Mar 29 '16 at 14:22
  • So you want to give cheat to a monster to give an item to a monster? How do you plan to give cheat to a monster in the first place? – ikegami Mar 30 '16 at 4:42
  • Cheat simply avoids an item's normal requirements (specific attribute/required hands/size) that would prevent you from using it. It doesn't change any other game rules. – Samthere Apr 4 '16 at 10:43
8

The cheat! card specifically says:

"You may have and use any one item that would otherwise be against the rules"

However, monsters are not items (they are an entirely different type of card, falling under the door category) so they are not valid targets for the cheat! card.

If, instead, you're asking if Monsters can use items when you use the cheat card, I would still say no, as the card specifically says "you may have and use any one item" rather than something more broad, such as "Disregard all rules for this item"

  • I'm not really sure where the interpretation in the first paragraph came from (my question does explicitly say give cheat to a monster), but the second paragraph does answer my question really well; I definitely agree that 'you' is the key word here. – user12105 Apr 10 '16 at 10:04
  • I guess I was reading it more as "use cheat on a monster" which sounds like trying to equip the monster. Some of the expansions enable similar behavior by "taming" monsters and such, so my brain was predisposed in that direction I suppose. Glad it still answered your question! – Robert Wertz Apr 11 '16 at 13:47
  • What about steeds? – janw Apr 18 '16 at 14:56
  • @janw I believe steeds would be covered by the cheat! card, as I believe they are item cards rather than door cards. I believe you could therefore use two steeds or use a steed that would otherwise be unusable. Additionally, you could ask this as your own question if it has not already been asked – Robert Wertz Apr 18 '16 at 18:39
  • Yeah true about asking a own question. Steeds in M4 are door cards but are otherwise handled as (big) items. Some can even be sold. We always use allow cheats on them. – janw Apr 18 '16 at 20:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.