When I decide to throw away my hand and use a mulligan, should I simply draw a new hand from the library or shuffle my thrown hand into the library before redrawing? I'm mostly interested in mulligan rules, but I believe a "mulligan" isn't system-specific; I'd accept a well-sourced system-agnostic answer as well.

  • 9
    As a slight comment, a mulligan is game specific. Where in Magic you have to replace your entire hand with N - 1 cards (which is repeatable), for example Hearthstone (Digital Card Game) allows you to swap up to N cards out for new ones, but only once. Both actions are called 'Mulligan' in the respective games.
    – Davy
    Apr 5 '16 at 15:23

In Magic you always shuffle your hand into your library then draw a new hand.

103.4. [...] To take a mulligan, a player shuffles his or her hand back into his or her library, then draws a new hand of one fewer cards than he or she had before. [...]

  • 3
    Of course if you're not playing in a sanctioned event, you can use whatever house rules you want. For instance, some people still do the partial mulligan when they play EDH. Apr 5 '16 at 16:59
  • 1
    Forestalls the interpretation that you can choose to keep some of the cards, then mulligan the rest. It is a painful holdover from casual that I've seen pop up at FNMs with younger crowds. Apr 5 '16 at 19:58
  • 1
    @DrunkCynic It also is how mulligans worked in EDH until a few months ago, so if someone was coming from that perspective and hadn't heard of the rules change they could easily misinterpret it.
    – diego
    Apr 5 '16 at 20:00
  • 1
    I must stress the word always. Unless you're playing some house-rules-alteration or EDH, you must always mulligan this way. This is non-negotiable at any sort of sanctioned MTG event. Apr 6 '16 at 19:37
  • Good terminology for not shuffling when mulliganing is "Lazy" mulligans. They are a common and good option for commander: a format not sanctioned for competitive play (only sanctioned for casual events).
    – LovesTha
    Apr 7 '16 at 6:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.