3

I was playing MTG Duels.

I had Jace, Telepath Unbound on the battlefield and activated its second ability:

You may cast target instant or sorcery card from your graveyard this turn. If that card would be put into your graveyard this turn, exile it instead.

The target was Adverse Conditions in the graveyard. However, there was no effect and it wasn't exiled either.

Why was there no effect?

  • 2
    Why did you include "Hidden zone" in your question title? – Hackworth Apr 13 '16 at 7:36
  • That was my guess from reading the rullings : If, at any time, the card goes to a hidden zone (such as your hand or your library), the effect loses track of the card. It won’t be exiled, even if that card is put into your graveyard later that turn. – June Kim Apr 13 '16 at 9:04
10

I don't know how MTG Duels exactly works but my guess is this, the card says

You may cast target instant or sorcery card from your graveyard this turn

Which means that you are able to target a card in your graveyard but decide to not cast it. After this ability resolves you still have to manually cast it from your graveyard. You have the entire turn for that. It doesn't automatically get cast when the ability resolves.

  • I can confirm this is how Jace works. Once his loyalty ability has resolved, you have to zoom into your graveyard, then zoom into the selected card (will be highlighted red). You will see an ability at the bottom of the card saying "Cast this card" (May have to scroll the card text if there is a lot of text on the card). Once you click this ability, it will begin casting the card. – Progenitor Mimic Apr 13 '16 at 8:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.