7

I just got the Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War expansion, which I haven't played yet. It comes with some additional Takeover markers. These two markers look like "temporary defense gained by discarding cards" markers:

Mystery marker from Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War expansion

I can't find the card that gives this power. The rulebook states they are for Rebel Pact:

Two counters are supplied to track a player’s total possible Military on defense (for use with Rebel Pact).

But Rebel Pact is part of the Rebel vs. Imperium expansion. In Settle phase, it gives

+2 defense against a [takeover] for each... (Rebel military world) in your tableau; +1 defense for each other [military world]

Rebel Pact

and the Rebel vs. Imperium expansion already comes with markers for tracking Rebel Pacts defense:

The Rebel Pact provides 2 Military for each Rebel military world and 1 Military for each non-Rebel military world in a player’s tableau at the start of Settle, when defending against takeovers. Rebel Pact Military marker

What card are these markers used with? What do they mean?

Mystery marker from Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War expansion

2

According to the Rulebook, next to a picture of these markers:

Two counters are supplied to track a player’s total possible Military on defense (for use with Rebel Pact).

These markers are for use on your military track to show you (and your opponents) your potential maximum defense if you count both your defensive bonus from Rebel Pact and all your sources of temporary Military (denoted by the discard symbol on the token).

Page 8 of the rulebook has an illustration.

  • I don't think this is it. I've edited my question to include reasons I think the rulebook is wrong. – splattered bits Apr 19 '16 at 20:56
  • I think that the tokens that only show the Rebel Pact token are to be placed to show what your defense would be if you didn't use any of your extra discard-for-military powers, while the tokens in question show your maximum defense if you used all of your discard-for-military powers. – dpmattingly Apr 19 '16 at 22:00

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.