8
  1. 1/1 Devil token (ala Devils' Playground) on board
  2. Just the Wind cast on the 1/1 Devil
  3. Token gets removed from board
  4. ?? Devil does 1 damage to target creature or player ??
15

Unfortunately, no, it doesn't die. "Dies" has a specific meaning:

700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.”

The token does cease to exist once in the player's hand, but that's due to other rules, and that's not considered dying either:

110.5f A token that’s phased out, or that’s in a zone other than the battlefield, ceases to exist. This is a state-based action; see rule 704. (Note that if a token changes zones, applicable triggered abilities will trigger before the token ceases to exist.)

But, this has an interesting implication that a token can die and is temporarily in the graveyard, thus satisfying death triggers.

  • 6
    For added effect: Tokens still "die", but then they are removed from the graveyard immediately as a state-based action. – malnourish Apr 19 '16 at 19:26
  • 1
    This could use a mention of the rule that does cause the token to stop existing when bounced. That would give the opportunity to show that it stops existing without rule 700.4 applying. – SevenSidedDie Apr 20 '16 at 3:56
  • If it doesn't die, then the added ability doesn't trigger. – davemtgplayer Apr 20 '16 at 12:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.