This question already has an answer here:
I have a fun little shocker deck. From Gatherer
Whenever Shocker deals damage to a player, that player discards all the cards in his or her hand, then draws that many cards.
Note that the errata does not specify combat damage. When the stars align I usually have the following auras on the Shocker.
- Arcane Teachings: Enchanted creature gets +2/+2 and has "Tap: This creature deals 1 damage to target creature or player."
- Sigil of Sleep: Whenever enchanted creature deals damage to a player, return target creature that player controls to its owner's hand.
My understanding is that when I damage a player (I even targeted myself to get a new hand in desperation) that his hand is discarded and new cards are drawn. Then at the same time a creature (assuming there is a legal target) returns to his hand. Netting the player 1 extra card in his hand once the action is completed.
Is this correct? Are there rules addressing this scenario?