4

South bids, say 2 spades, then west bids 'double', then all others pass.
Does this mean that south is the declarer with the contract being 2 spades doubled?
Or does west win the contract with 2 spades doubled?

My intuition in reading so far suggests that south would still win the auction, but I have not explicitly read that this is the case.

Also, this is not intended to touch on any bidding conventions either, just simply how this affects who wins the auction. I do believe I understand the consequences in the game play or rather the scoring of a doubled bid, but I am simply uncertain who would have won the auction under these circumstances.

  • 4
    To assist in future interpretation, note the distinction between bids, which include only the calls naming a denomination and number of odd-tricks from 1 to 7, and calls which also include Pass, Double, and Redouble. Only Bids have the potential to make one player Declarer, and only if that Player is the first by her side to mention the denomination of the bid. – Forget I was ever here Apr 24 '16 at 1:51
  • 1
    Here are the Laws of Rubber Bridge - 2014 Edition: cdn.acbl.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/… – Forget I was ever here Apr 24 '16 at 1:58
  • 1
    Not a bad question for a beginner. I hope that the answers and comments helped you to learn more about the game. – Tom Au Apr 24 '16 at 2:17
  • Yes they certainly did, I like to be explicitly clear on one level of understanding before moving to the next... In that vein, I feel more comfortable learning about the actual budding language as it pertains to the strategy as mentioned her in the posts and comments. Also, I imagine had I actually played a game with someone who knew how to play this would be a question I would not have needed to ask here. It's not such a popular game with my generation however – user74091 Apr 24 '16 at 15:15
  • 1
    @user74091: I can strongly recommend Richard Pavlick's site: rpbridge.net – Forget I was ever here Apr 25 '16 at 2:07
8

Your understanding is correct: South would be the declarer, playing a contract of two spades doubled. Doubles (and redoubles) never change who is declarer, just the scores for making or failing to make the contract.

  • Thank you, Im learning to teach a group of friends how to play and none of us have ever played before, and want to make sure i understand all the basic game play thx – user74091 Apr 23 '16 at 6:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.