So I was playing with some friends and we ran into a problem. My opponent had a creature with both hexproof and indestructible.

I drew and played Polymorphist's Jest. I then attacked with my creature, which had Voidwalk encoded on it. It wasn't blocked, so I cast Voidwalk with his currently blue frog creature as the target and exiled it. Now, I know exiled tokens immediately die or cease to exist, but what would happen to his creature? Would it return or simply be gone?

  • How is your Voidwalk encoded on your opponent's creature? The cipher ability only allows you to encode the spell on a creature you control. (Plus the triggered ability from cipher is on the creature and would be removed by Polymorphist's Jest.)
    – Hao Ye
    Apr 25, 2016 at 21:41
  • 4
    @HaoYe There are two creatures - the OP has one with Voidwalk encoded already, and their opponent has the one that's been turned into a frog.
    – Cascabel
    Apr 25, 2016 at 21:44
  • @Jefromi Ah, got it. Parsing error on my part.
    – Hao Ye
    Apr 25, 2016 at 21:47
  • The rewrites to the question, to gloss over the confusion of the OP around tokens and Polymorphist's Jest render the otherwise very good answer of esoterik rather confusing.
    – John
    Apr 25, 2016 at 22:58
  • 1
    @John The question does still mention tokens, just not the title. It's pretty confusing to future readers if the title talks about exiling tokens when the question isn't ultimately about that at all.
    – Cascabel
    Apr 26, 2016 at 0:41

1 Answer 1


Polymorphist's Jest does not create tokens, it only changes the stats and characteristics of the creature's controlled by the targeted player. It is still the same game object as far as Magic is concerned.

Under the circumstances presented in your question, your opponent's creature would be 'flickered' (magic slang for exiled and then returned to the battlefield) and when it returned it wouldn't be a 1/1 frog anymore, it would be whatever the face up of whatever card was returned.

  • 3
    Note that Voidwalk only returns the creature to the battlefield in the end step, not immediately, so it's not quite traditional flickering. (Of course this doesn't affect the main point of the answer.)
    – David Z
    Apr 26, 2016 at 8:25

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .