Will Karlov of the Ghost Council gain its counters if I use extort right after playing it?
E.g.: I play him, then I use extort because I played him, will it gain its counters?
Will Karlov of the Ghost Council gain its counters if I use extort right after playing it?
E.g.: I play him, then I use extort because I played him, will it gain its counters?
No, Karlov will not gain counters.
Extort will resolve before Karlov. When you gain life from Extort, Karlov will not be on the battlefield yet, and his ability only works while on the battlefield.
702.100a Extort is a triggered ability. “Extort” means “Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain life equal to the total life lost this way.”
The order of play is:
No, he will not gain counters.
From the comprehensive rules (emphasis mine):
702.100. Extort
702.100a Extort is a triggered ability. “Extort” means “Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain life equal to the total life lost this way.”
702.100b If a permanent has multiple instances of extort, each triggers separately.
Because Extort is an ability that triggers when a spell is cast, in this case Karlov, it will go on the stack above Karlov; it will resolve before he enters the battlefield. The order would look like this, assuming nothing else happens on the stack:
As you can see, Karlov will enter the battlefield after Extort resolves, so he will not gain counters.