When you gain this card, immediately gain 2 Spells. Then discard 1 Spell and this card.

This wording implies that I can keep both Spells and discard a previously owned Spell, but it kind of breaks the idea of going shopping for spells and picking from a wide selection. Ruling?

  • 1
    You have enough "resources" to buy a spell, but you really want both. Luckily you're in a Magick Shoppe, where they'll make a deal for your other Magickes!
    – Samthere
    May 4 '16 at 8:44

The text is unambiguous.
Have in mind it's not worded "Then discard 1 of these Spells and this card." while it could be.
There is no relevant ruling, as this is not a rules issue.

  • 2
    To your point, I noticed another card "Book of Spells" that says "gain 2 Spells and discard 1 of them" so even if this were an oversight, the existence of a case where they clarify the point makes it even less likely of it being an oversight.
    – Joey
    May 1 '16 at 8:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.