The rules text on Gleam of Authority is as follows:

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for each +1/+1 counter on other creatures you control.

Enchanted creature has vigilance and "{W}, {T}: Bolster 1."

If a creature were to gain more counters, would that enchantment also raise in power as well or just stay as it originally was?

  • I don't understand the first question; you appear to have accidentally some words. Effects from putting artifacts/enchantments where/on what?
    – jwodder
    May 7 '16 at 16:33
  • For example, if I placed Feral Invocation on a creature, would the effect of "Enchanted creature gets +2/+2." count as a counter, or would the card have to specifically say "Add X +1/+1 counters to creature"?
    – Shanna D
    May 7 '16 at 16:37
  • 3
    Possible duplicate of Are +1/+1 counters different from +1/+1 effects?
    – Hackworth
    May 7 '16 at 16:47
  • 1
    I would recommend asking just that question, because people have already linked to the answer to the first question.
    – murgatroid99
    May 7 '16 at 16:50
  • 1
    Then I would suggest asking a new question. If your two questions are sufficiently different from each other, it's better to have them in 2 separate threads.
    – Hackworth
    May 7 '16 at 16:50

Yes, the enchanted creature would grow more powerful.

From the Comprehensive Rules:

604.1. Static abilities do something all the time rather than being activated or triggered. They are written as statements, and they’re simply true.

611.3a A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn’t “locked in”; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.