I played Magic a long time ago, and I remember activated abilities on creatures were considered instants. Reading through the rules today, it isn't quite clear to me. The reason I am wondering is for the combination of Prodigal Pyromancer and Fire Servant. The does the Fire Servant's doubling apply to the Prodigal Pyromancer's "{T}: Prodigal Pyromancer deals 1 damage to target creature or player."?

1 Answer 1


No, the doubling does not apply. Creature abilities are fast effects, a class which includes instants. But instants, like sorceries, are a distinct spell type.

  • 5
    This is substantially correct, though the term "fast effect" was dropped from Magic a loooong time ago. Most creature abilities do happen at the same speed as an instant, but that doesn't make them instant spells, not by a long chalk! Mar 27, 2011 at 23:28

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .