Let's say you have a flying creature and your opponent has nothing with flying or reach. Could you attack any one of his creatures you choose?

  • I picked the wrong duplicate target, the duplicate should be boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/27039/…
    – Joe W
    May 14, 2016 at 16:27
  • @Joe Neither of those look like dups. This question isn't really just about flying (though the OP thought it was); the OP is asking about attacking creatures directly.
    – Cascabel
    May 14, 2016 at 16:51
  • There is what the question says, and what the asker needs to know. May 14, 2016 at 17:29

1 Answer 1


No, because you don't attack creatures in Magic; you attack players (or planeswalkers), and then the player being attacked can choose to block (or not block) your attacking creatures with their creatures if able. If your opponent has nothing with flying or reach, they will be unable to block an attacking flyer, and so your flyer will deal damage directly to your opponent.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .