1

There's a card called Emeria Shepherd that reads (among others, emphasis mine)

Landfall - Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, return target nonland permanent card from your graveyard to your hand. If that card is a Plains, you may return that nonland permanent card to the battlefield instead.

Is there a nonland permanent card that is a plains?

8

There are not any cards that are non-land and a Plains. This is because each type has their own list of subtypes that can be associated with them and Plains is a land subtype. Cards cannot have subtypes that don't match one of their types, therefore it is impossible to have a card that is a Plains but not a land.

205.3d An object can’t gain a subtype that doesn’t correspond to one of that object’s types.

205.3i Lands have their own unique set of subtypes; these subtypes are called land types. The land types are Desert, Forest, Gate, Island, Lair, Locus, Mine, Mountain, Plains, Power-Plant, Swamp, Tower, and Urza’s.
Of that list, Forest, Island, Mountain, Plains, and Swamp are the basic land types. See rule 305.6.


Also as had been mentioned the second sentence of the Shepard's ability should be "If that land is a Plains, you may return that nonland permanent card to the battlefield instead." referring to the land that triggered the ability in the first place, not the card you target in your graveyard.

  • Is it me, or has this ruling not yet been updated to be in line with the new addition of "Wastes". – Laurens Swart Jun 3 '16 at 9:14
  • @LaurensSwart 'Wastes' is not a land subtype, it is just the name of a card that has no subtypes. The mana producing ability is given through oracle text not the land's subtype like all other basic lands. – diego Jun 3 '16 at 13:34
9

Your text is slightly off. It's actually:

Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, you may return target nonland permanent card from your graveyard to your hand. If that land is a Plains, you may return that nonland permanent card to the battlefield instead.

So, it's referring to the land that triggers landfall, not the nonland permanent you're targeting in your graveyard.

  • 1
    Maybe "It's referring to the land that triggers landfall..." – SocioMatt May 24 '16 at 17:25
  • Wow, I read that card so many times and always got it wrong :D – npst May 24 '16 at 18:26
2

@JonTheMon points out how a misinterpretation of the card's text led to your question. However, the literal answer to your question is no, there are no nonland plains (shown in this query). All 13 cards with the subtype Plains also have the type Land.

  • Plains is a subtype, and Land is a type. – Hao Ye May 24 '16 at 17:59
  • @HaoYe Good catch. Fixed. – SocioMatt May 24 '16 at 18:00

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.