1

I have an Awaken deck and I want to use Ruins of Oran-Rief. If I awaken a land that I placed on the battlefield earlier on the same turn, does it count as a legal target?

3
  • Possible duplicate of What is "summoning sickness" and how does it affect my creatures?
    – GendoIkari
    May 29 '16 at 13:21
  • It's not completely clear what you are asking, but I believe the linked question will have what you need.
    – GendoIkari
    May 29 '16 at 13:21
  • 1
    I've given this some editing. The original first sentence was a red herring for understanding the question (there's no "enters the battlefield" trigger that's relevant here), and I've just put the intent up front and rephrased. May 29 '16 at 13:48
5

Yes, you can use Ruins of Oran-Rief on that Awakened land - as long as, like you're describing, you played that land in the same turn.

The ability in question is this one, I presume:

{T}: Put a +1/+1 counter on target colorless creature that entered the battlefield this turn.

After your land's awakened, it's a colorless creature (as well as a land). That colorless creature did also enter the battlefield this turn. So, yes, at this point it meets all the prerequisites for targeting with this ability: it's a colorless creature that entered the battlefield this turn.

This is confirmed in a ruling on Ruins of Oran-Rief's gatherer page:

1/22/2016 - The target of the last ability didn’t necessarily have to be a colorless creature as it entered the battlefield, provided it entered the battlefield during that turn. However, it does have to be a colorless creature to be a legal target of the ability.

3
  • 1
    You can quote the ruling on Oran for this too.
    – GendoIkari
    May 29 '16 at 13:55
  • Would the land have to have been played the same turn as it got awakened though? I.e.: does a land "re-enter" the battlefield as a creature when you awaken it? (I thought it didn't, as transforms and other kind of things also don't count as "entering the battlefield") Jun 3 '16 at 9:10
  • @Laurens The question is about Awakening a land that did enter the battlefield in the same turn - but I'll edit to make that clear. Good thing to cover. :) Jun 3 '16 at 11:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.