0

In Mansions of Madness, the rules say that "an investigator must make an evade test before moving or performing non-attack actions." What if the investigator uses an equipment card which does not have the word "Action" on it. Does that require an evade test ?

1

You have already quoted all the relevant rules.

Does this equipment require you move?
Does this equipment require you to take a non-attack action?

If yes, make an evade test first.
If no, You don't make the evade test.

| improve this answer | |
  • Well, the question is: the equipment which doesn't have the word "Action" in it, is it still considered an action or not ? The rules say that if the equipment doesn't have the word "Action" then it doesn't require you to spend an action point. But it doesn't say if it is still considered as an action for the purposes of evading. – Cristian Mocanu May 30 '16 at 11:42
  • 1
    @CristianMocanu Can you provide an example of an ability about which you aren't sure whether it requires an action? – tsuma534 May 30 '16 at 12:47
  • 1
    There are many examples, but the one I encountered in play is the "Tonic of Inspiration" artifact card from The Yellow Sign expansion story. The card reads: Artifact. You may discard this card on your turn to roll a die. 1-6: Heal 2 damage or 2 horror. 7-10: Gain 1 random Kings Court card from the supply. – Cristian Mocanu May 30 '16 at 13:35
  • 1
    This is not an action. Otherwise it would be "Action: Roll a die." et cetera. Eventually it could be "You may discard this card as an action to roll a die" – tsuma534 May 30 '16 at 13:47
  • 1
    Yes, that's right.. – tsuma534 May 30 '16 at 14:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.