2

Imagine a Long Neck + Foraging + Cooperative combo.
It gains 2 foods from the food bank and feed the species at its right.
If the species at the right has foraging + cooperative, how many does it gain? And how many gains the third species?

It seems like the first would gain 2, the next 2 and the next 1, but I am not sure. Someone said the first should gain 2 and the next 4 and the third should have 2.

  • I've retagged this to the North Star Games version of the game, rather than "Evolution: the Origin of Species," based on the cards you are referencing in your question. – SocioMatt May 31 '16 at 16:08
1

As clarified in the Climate rules, and as the system does it in the digital version, the food distributed would be 2 - 2 - 1.
-Creature A gets one food from long neck, it gets an additional from foraging. Because it ate, the species to the right gets one plant food.
-Creature B gets one food and then an additional food from foraging. Because it ate, the species to the right gets one plant food.
-Creature C gets one food. If it also had foraging it would get an additional food.

The designer (Dominic Crapuchettes) also clarified it in this thread here: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1419292/foraging-cooperation-and-order-eating

They also plan to post an official FAQ after the digital version is released.

0

As long as no species would exceed its Population, the three species would get 2, 4, and 4 Plant Food. However, if at any time a food could not be taken as a result of Population limits, the numbers would be lower.

To work this out, let's say you have species {A}, {B} and {C}.

  • {A} has the traits Long Neck, Foraging, and Cooperative.
  • {B} has Foraging and Cooperative.
  • {C} has neither.

After each trait triggers, I'll note the amount of cumulative food like this: ({A}:0; {B}:0; {C}:0).

When the Food Cards are revealed,

  1. {A} is going to take 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of Long Neck ({A}:1; {B}:0; {C}:0).
  2. {B} takes 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of {A}'s Cooperation ({A}:1; {B}:1; {C}:0).
  3. {C} takes 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of {B}'s Cooperation ({A}:1; {B}:1; {C}:1).
  4. {B} takes another 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of its Foraging trait ({A}:1; {B}:2; {C}:1).
  5. {C} takes another 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of {B}'s Cooperation ({A}:1; {B}:2; {C}:2).

So far, the only thing {A} has used is the Long Neck trait. Continuing on:

  1. {A} takes an additional 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of Foraging, which is triggered from the Long Neck ({A}:2; {B}:2; {C}:2).
  2. {B} takes 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of {A}'s Cooperation ({A}:2; {B}:3; {C}:2).
  3. {C} takes 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of {B}'s Cooperation ({A}:2; {B}:3; {C}:3).
  4. {B} takes another 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of its Foraging trait ({A}:2; {B}:4; {C}:3).
  5. {C} takes another 1 Plant Food from the Food Bank because of {B}'s Cooperation ({A}:2; {B}:4; {C}:4).

Final tally: {A} gets 2 Plant Food, {B} gets 4 Plant Food, and {C} gets 4 Plant Food.

This assumes that Population limits are not met. If, for example, {A} met it's limit after just the Long Neck trait, steps 6-10 would be skipped because {A} didn't take a second Plant Food from its Foraging trait.


Rules can be found here.

  • This is wrong - this is clarified in the Climate printed rules, and by how it works in the digital version. – sirjonsnow Jul 6 '17 at 20:02
  • Added my own answer, with a link to the game designer's feedback. – sirjonsnow Jul 6 '17 at 20:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.