10

When a player purchases a power plant above the maximum limit, and must discard one, does the discard go under the stack of power plants, into a separate pile, or is it removed from the game?

10

They are discarded, which pretty much means they are removed from the game. The only time a power plant is put back under the stack of plants is during Phase 5: Update the power plant market.

Once a plant is discarded (because of too many plants) or removed from the game (no one bids on a plant in a turn, or someone's house count is higher than a power plant number), they aren't coming back, so "discarded" and "removed from the game" are pretty synonymous.

0
  1. A «discarded» power plant is removed from the game.

  2. When a player buys a fourth power plant, he must discard one of his other power plants. Power Grid Rules http://riograndegames.com/getFile.php?id=698

  • What does this answer add to the existing one? It has a rules quote, which normally would be good, except all the quote does is verify that the word "discard" is used, which was the word already used in the question. – AndyT Jun 3 at 15:32
  • The question was very precise and I answer it precisely... – Robert Miller Jun 3 at 15:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.