1

This is for Commander play. The General's mana defines what other card you get to use, BUT what happens when you have a colorless General? Can you play any other mana cards (WUBRG), OR are you stuck playing ONLY colorless.

  • I updated your title to ask the question you ask in your post, and I've also added the mtg-commander tag. – SocioMatt Jun 5 '16 at 17:51
  • You can also not even play basic non waste lands either. – Neil Meyer Jun 7 '16 at 12:11
7

You can only use cards with a colorless color identity with a commander that has a colorless color identity.

Rule 903 has the rules for the commander format, and the following subrules are relevant here:

  • 903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card’s mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).

  • 903.5. Each Commander deck is subject to the following deck construction rules.

    • 903.5c A card can be included in a Commander deck only if every color in its color identity is also found in the color identity of the deck’s commander.

"Colorless" color identity means that the card has no colors in its color identity. If you tried to put a card in your deck that had any colors in its cost or rules text or indicator, then it would have a color in its color identity that is not in the commander's color identity.

  • 2
    I don't know if this is worth noting, but you couldn't use cards with Devoid in a deck with a commander that has no colors in its color identity, unless those cards had no color identity themselves. – SocioMatt Jun 5 '16 at 19:12
  • I think it should be pretty clear, from the explicit mention of "colors of any mana symbols in that card's mana cost". Plus, there are multiple exceptions: cards with Deviod can't be used for one reason, Transguild Courier can't be used for another, and Elbrus, the Binding Blade isn't allowed for yet another reason. – murgatroid99 Jun 5 '16 at 19:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.