2

Is it possible to use a creature with a surge ability as my commander? a creature such as Tyrant of Valakut?

If so would this allow me to bypass the cost increase by using the surge ability, or would the surge cost increase as well?

I am new to commander so I am not fully aware of the comprehensive rules on creature abilities like this.

1 Answer 1

4

Is it possible to use a creature with a surge ability as my commander?

Yes

Surge does not care about where your card is when you cast it, so it also works in command zone.

You still need to apply commander tax to the cost afterwards

a creature such as Tyrant of Valakut?

No

I believe your commander should be a legendary creature, which Tyrant of Valakut is not.

3

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .