2

When exactly does Drug Dealer trigger?

It says "When the corp's turn begins, draw 1 card."

When does that trigger on the corp's turn?

Does it trigger before the corp gets priority on turn 1.2?


Example:

The runner has 0 cards in hand at the end of the runners turn. The runner has Drug Dealer out. The corp has Bio Ethics Association rezzed. Does the Bio Ethics Association fire first and kill the runner or does the runner get to draw a card before taking net damage with Drug Dealer?

4

Both trigger at 1.2. Because it’s the corp’s turn, their card will activate first (see page 22, Simultaneous Effects), so the runner gets flatlined.

  • But the drug dealer says "when the corp's turn begins". Which does not fit the definition of what triggers during the 1.2 phase. 1.2 phase says "when your turn begins" conditionals trigger. Which would mean that is not part of those triggers. – prolink007 Jun 6 '16 at 17:41
  • You’re right, the wording is unfortunate. Still, that’s what is meant. – Eike Schulte Jun 6 '16 at 18:11
  • Bio Ethics Association is a corp card. "Your turn" on a corp card means corp's turn. It's as simple as that. – Deo Jul 29 '16 at 14:08
  • The actual definition of 1.2 (1.3 for runner) is 'turn begins' so all turn begins effects that trigger in this window trigger at the same time, starting with who's turn it is, be they each turn like Corporate Sales Team your turn, like Bio Ethics Association, or opponents turn (referenced as corp for runner or runner for corp) like Drug Dealer. – Andrew Jan 9 '18 at 22:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.