The Mystique Main Character has the following Level Up Power:

Bitter Fury

Level Up (10) - Whenever Mystique gains ATK, she gains that much XP.

The rules have this to say about +1/+1 counters:

Many effects put +1/+1 of -1/-1 counters on characters. These numbers alter a character's ATK and DEF until something removes the counters.

Does adding a +1/+1 counter to Mystique cause her to "gain attack," which triggers her Level Up Power?

1 Answer 1


From the FAQ at VsSystem2PCG.AlterVista.org, regarding Mystique's Bitter Fury:


Does adding counters count as her gaining ATK? What about Trickster God switching her ATK/DEF, would she gain 5 xp as she turns into a 6/1?


Yes and Yes.

  • This is a handy resource. I'm curious who is providing answers to the questions on this website. The website links to the FAQ from UpperDeck, but that hasn't been updated since September of 2015. Where are the answers for the Defenders and A-Force expansions coming from? It's probably written on the site somewhere, but I don't read Italian and not everything is translated.
    – SocioMatt
    Commented Jun 16, 2016 at 13:40

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .