1

Players can put cards down on the table unequipped. If they have a one-shot card on the table, such as a loaded die or a type of grenade, can they use those cards during combat? Or, can you only play cards that are on the table when you are not in combat?

  • What version of munchkin are you playing? There are no rules for a "bag" of set aside cards in the base game. – Ken Herbert Jun 21 '16 at 2:26
  • 1
    Giving to charity is an important part of the game. – Joe W Jun 21 '16 at 2:33
  • 2
    @JoeW: Avoiding giving to charity is also an important part of the game (as long as you do so within the rules): nothing says munchkin more than finding a legal way to play multiple cards as no-ops just so you don't have to give them away :) – Benjamin Cosman Jun 21 '16 at 6:51
  • 1
    I can't find any reference to the word "bag" in the Legends rules. Everything in there is either "in your hand" or "on the table". – Ken Herbert Jun 21 '16 at 23:10
  • 1
    I've edited this to use actual Munchkin terminology. Could you check if it's accurate, and stick to the terminology the rulebooks use if you need to edit? In particular, there's no "pull out of bag" mechanism in the rules, so that was confusing to parse from the question as asked. – doppelgreener Jun 22 '16 at 13:45
9

One-shot items you are "carrying" can be used just like ones in your hand. From the rules*:

All Items you have in play are considered “carried.” Items that are actually giving you a bonus are “equipped.” You should indicate Items that are not equipped by turning the cards sideways.

A Treasure card that says “Usable once only” is often called a “one-shot” Treasure. Most of these are used during combat to strengthen the munchkins or the monsters, and may be played from your hand or from the table.

Cards in play may not be returned to your hand.

Thus the main things that change when you put a one-shot card in play are

  • Pro: it doesn't count against your hand limit.
  • Con: other players can see you have it and can e.g. target it with steal-an-item effects.

Finally, I notice you are using the word "card" everywhere instead of "item", so I want to make sure you know the difference: an "Item" is any card with a gold cost (including "No Value"), and only Items may be carried. So if your hand is overfull with monsters and stuff, you'll have to give them to charity or find a different way to get rid of them.

*those are the base game rules, but to my knowledge none of the many other versions and expansions significantly change the rule in question.

  • so do i put one-shots one the table sideways or like normal items? – gamer103 Jun 21 '16 at 23:00
  • 1
    Sideways. Only items that are currently "equipped", i.e. items that are (almost always) giving you a +N combat bonus / taking up a slot like Footgear, are vertical; both one-shots and pieces of equipment you are not using are sideways. – Benjamin Cosman Jun 21 '16 at 23:15

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.