Opponent targeted me with Moonlight Hunt; would my creature It That Rides as One return damage or do any fighting to any of the wolves or werewolves that were chosen to fight me ?

  • What do you mean by "return"? What "fighting" are you referring to? – murgatroid99 Jul 24 '16 at 5:01
  • Choose target creature you don't control. Each creature you control that's a Wolf or a Werewolf deals damage equal to its power to that creature. – dokepa Jul 24 '16 at 5:03
  • 2
    Right. That's the text of Moonlight Hunt. It says that some creatures deal damage to a specific other creature, and that's it. It doesn't say anything about something "returning" or anything "fighting", so I'm not sure what you're referring to. – murgatroid99 Jul 24 '16 at 5:08
  • @murgatroid99 Pretty sure it's just some inexact language - the OP is saying "return" as in "deal damage in return", and they're saying "fight" to mean "deal damage to". Obviously that's not what the card says or what fight means, but... it's what the OPs asking about. – Cascabel Jul 24 '16 at 5:32
  • Right; that's how I figured after a few readings. dokepa, note that "fight" is a specific keyword in Magic; this card doesn't use that word so it doesn't cause creatures to fight. – GendoIkari Jul 24 '16 at 5:33


The only thing that Moonlight Hunt does is specifically what it says: each wolf or werewolf that your opponent controls will deal damage to your It That Rides as One. Your creature will not deal damage in return because the spell doesn't say it does.

Note that Moonlight Hunt does not cause creatures to fight each other. "Fight" is a keyword that causes creatures to deal damage to each other; which may be what you are thinking of. But Moonlight Hunt doesn't use the word "fight"; so it doesn't have anything to do with "fighting".

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.