1

Let say I have Hive Mind in game:

enter image description here

The opponent casts Counterspell on my creature spell. Can I counter the Counterspell with the clone of Counterspell I get from Hive Mind?

5

Yes, you can. By the time Hive Mind's ability copies your opponent's Counterspell, that Counterspell is already on the stack. So you can choose it as a target for your own copy of Counterspell.

In more detail, what happens is this:

  1. You cast your creature spell, which let's say is a Weirded Vampire. (Why would you be playing Weirded Vampire against Hive Mind? Weird, huh.) The stack is

    • Weirded Vampire
  2. Your opponent casts Counterspell, and Hive Mind's ability triggers. The stack is

    • Hive Mind's ability
    • Counterspell (opponent's)
    • Weirded Vampire
  3. The ability resolves, giving you a copy of Counterspell, which you can choose to have target the original Counterspell. The stack is

    • Counterspell (yours)
    • Counterspell (opponent's)
    • Weirded Vampire
  4. Your Counterspell resolves, countering your opponent's Counterspell. The stack is

    • Weirded Vampire
  5. The Weirded Vampire now resolves.

This does mean that (in a 2-player game) Hive Mind basically nullifies any counterspell which can target a copy of itself.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.