4

When I have two copies of Diffusion Sliver on the battlefield, does my opponent have to pay four mana, or two mana to target my slivers?
I mean it says, pay two, so when he pays two both cards should be happy, or does this stack?

An explanation how and why would be nice.

5

For convenience, I will quote Diffusion Sliver's ability:

Whenever a Sliver creature you control becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, counter that spell or ability unless its controller pays {2}.

So, you've got two Diffusion Slivers. Let's call them Artemis and Boromir. Each of them has their own independent copy of this ability. When your opponent casts a spell that targets one of your slivers, you get two triggered abilities going on the stack: one from Artemis and one from Boromir.

When Artemis's triggered ability resolves, your opponent has to pay 2 mana to satisfy the cost of that ability (unless they let their spell be countered, but let's assume that doesn't happen). It's a general rule in Magic that you cannot pay for more than one cost using the same resources. So the two mana used to pay for Artemis's ability's cost cannot also pay for the cost of Boromir's ability. When they pay the mana, they no longer have that mana - just like money.

Later on when Boromir's triggered ability resolves, your opponent will have to find two additional mana to pay for that cost. That makes a total of four.

| improve this answer | |
  • 2
    I might not have posted this answer only because I couldn't resist giving the slivers funny names. – David Z Aug 9 '16 at 8:12
  • @G.Kner Well, thanks. For what it's worth, I usually find it useful to wait a while - maybe a day or so - before accepting an answer, so that you can really choose the best one. You don't have to wait, of course, it's just something I've found useful in the past. – David Z Aug 9 '16 at 8:25
1

They have to pay four mana, when he casts the spell both slivers trigger and their ability to counter the spell unless he pays mana goes on the stack, to prevent these ability's from countering his spell they need to pay two mana for each of them making him pay a total of four mana

| improve this answer | |
  • Is there a case where you pay the cost, like in this case, can you call it a cost?, for one of multiple triggered abilities, where the others are paid too? – Eggi Aug 9 '16 at 7:40
  • Just to be sure, i always look at one spell after another on the stack, there is nothing that can influence the next spell with my actions from the previous? Except stuff like making the target invalid, or countering it? – Eggi Aug 9 '16 at 7:48
  • This only happens when something triggers twice but the ability states it can only happen once a turn – Ivar de Bruin Aug 9 '16 at 7:54
0

Those are perfectly normal triggered abilities. Each ability triggers when a sliver is targeted with a spell or ability. The controller of the abilities gets to put them on the stack in any order he or she prefers and his opponent gets to choose to pay either 0, 2 or 4 colourless mana.

The fact that two cards have the same name does not change how triggered abilities work, or how they are put on the stack.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.