When playing Carcassonne with "The Tower" and "Abbey and Mayor" expansions, can adding a level to the tower capture either the Mayor and/or Wagon?

There are no rules that I have seen that either authorize and/or forbid doing this so it's ambiguous.


In the file Carcassonne CAR (this is the link https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/87531/carcassonne-standard-complete-annotated-rules ) page 52, section the tower, before note 120 says: "Whenever a player places a tower piece, he or she may take one follower prisoner. Builders and pigs cannot be taken prisoner" So any meeple than can be considered a follower and it's not a pig or a builder can be captured.

In page 57, section abbey and mayor, note 137 says: "The mayor and wagon are followers, subject to the usual rules of deployment and affecting the majority. The barn is a special figure, not a follower.".

  • Wow, didn't know this document existed, thanks for the information. Aug 25 '16 at 13:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.