When playing Carcassonne with "The Tower" and "Abbey and Mayor" expansions, can adding a level to the tower capture either the Mayor and/or Wagon?

There are no rules that I have seen that either authorize and/or forbid doing this so it's ambiguous.

1 Answer 1


In the file Carcassonne CAR (this is the link https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/87531/carcassonne-standard-complete-annotated-rules ) page 52, section the tower, before note 120 says: "Whenever a player places a tower piece, he or she may take one follower prisoner. Builders and pigs cannot be taken prisoner" So any meeple than can be considered a follower and it's not a pig or a builder can be captured.

In page 57, section abbey and mayor, note 137 says: "The mayor and wagon are followers, subject to the usual rules of deployment and affecting the majority. The barn is a special figure, not a follower.".

  • Wow, didn't know this document existed, thanks for the information. Aug 25, 2016 at 13:29

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .