0

When playing Magic Duels, my opponent had a Mirrorwing Dragon as his only creature and I cast a Bone Splinters on it, sacrificing one of my three creatures.

The following occurred:

1) The game copied Bone Splinters (once) - I assume from Mirrorwing Dragon (the game is non-specific)

2) One of my two remaining creatures was targetted by the Bone Splinters copy and destroyed.

3) I was left with a single creature (of the original 3) and my opponents Mirrorwing Dragon was destroyed. My remaining creature did not have hexproof or protection from black.

Is this how this should've worked?

  • 2
    I'm not sure I understand the title and issue with "other" here - the situation you describe is indeed the spell being copied for a creature besides Mirrorwing Dragon. – Cascabel Sep 4 '16 at 14:44
  • 3
    What seems odd is that you had a creature left. Bone Splinters should've been copied for each of your creatures. Did the remaining one have hexproof or protection from black or something? – Cascabel Sep 4 '16 at 15:57
  • 2
    @joedragons You might want to edit your question to make it clear exactly what happened and what you're asking. It now sounds like what you actually want to know isn't about what "other" means and whether it includes the dragon, but rather why one creature survived. – Cascabel Sep 4 '16 at 16:35
  • 1
    I'm not telling you to delete it. People asked for clarification mainly because the title asked about the use of the word "other" but the body asked about an interaction between two cards. So, you just need to clarify what you intended to ask. For now, I'm going to roll back your edit, because it changes too much. – murgatroid99 Sep 5 '16 at 18:09
  • 1
    Identifying the creature that survived by name could provide a clue as to why it survived Bone Splinters, or avoided being a target in the first place. Identifying the names of all of the cards involved is always a good idea. – Rainbolt Sep 6 '16 at 15:53
7

If you cast a spell on a Mirrorwing Dragon as its only target, that spell will be copied for and target each of your creatures.

Whenever a player casts an instant or sorcery spell that targets only Mirrorwing Dragon, that player copies that spell for each other creature he or she controls that the spell could target.

"Her or she" refers to the caster of the spell. See also the first ruling on the gatherer page for Mirrorwing Dragon:

The copies are only created targeting creatures that the spell’s controller controls. Copies are not created for all creatures on the battlefield, and the affected creatures may be controlled by a different player than the controller of Mirrorwing Dragon. Notably, if you cast Murder targeting your opponent’s Mirrorwing Dragon, your creatures will each get a Murder, not your opponent’s.

Alternatively, since you said that "he killed one of my creatures*", you may be confusing the creature sacrifice cost of Bone Splinters with its effect. After the sacrifice, however, the spell would still be copied for each of your creatures.

  • Ah alright, with that murder example, I'm guessing he had to sacrifice his dragon to kill one of my creatures. Or there's a bug and I got lucky I even had one creature left. Thanks, I should have read the gather notes more closely. – joedragons Sep 4 '16 at 15:59
  • 6
    @joedragons In the situation you've described, as far as I can tell (because I don't quite understand it either), your opponent didn't have to sacrifice his dragon, and in fact there isn't even anything that allows him to sacrifice his dragon. Unless there's something you've left out of the description, you are the only one who gets to sacrifice a creature, and you should have had all your remaining creatures destroyed by copies of Bone Splinters. – David Z Sep 4 '16 at 16:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.