Say I have an Olivia, Mobilized for War on the field, who has this ability:

Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may discard a card. If you do, put a +1/+1 counter on that creature, it gains haste until end of turn, and it becomes a Vampire in addition to its other types.

I play a Werewolf and discard a card to pay for Olivia's ability. The Werewolf is also a Vampire now.

A turn passes without anybody playing spells, so the Werewolf transforms. Is it still a Vampire? Or is it only the subtypes written on the card's new face?

1 Answer 1



From the Comprehensive Rules:

711.7. When a double-faced permanent transforms, it doesn't become a new object. Any effects that applied to that permanent will continue to apply to it after it transforms.

So your Werewolf will keep its Vampire subtype.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .