0

I have a Night of Souls' Betrayal, and so does my opponent. Creatures get -2/-2.

I have a Marchesa, the Black Rose, relevant text:

Whenever a creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it dies, return that card to the battlefield under your control at the beginning of the next end step.

I play a Rakdos Cackler, a 1/1 with Unleash.

If I choose to have Rakdos Cackler enter with a counter, will it have a +1/+1 counter on it when it dies? Will Marchesa's ability return Rakdos Cackler to the battlefield at the next end step?

6
  • What part of this interaction are you unsure about? Do you want to know whether the Cackler has a counter when it dies, or whether it dies at all, or something else?
    – murgatroid99
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:30
  • If it will be reanimated when it dies
    – xornob
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:30
  • As in, will it have a +1/+1 counter when it dies
    – xornob
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:31
  • OK, I tried editing your question to make sure that point is emphasized.
    – murgatroid99
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:34
  • 1
    @steenbergh As of M14, each player can have his or her own copy of a legendary permanent.
    – xornob
    Commented Sep 9, 2016 at 12:48

1 Answer 1

2

Yes, it will trigger every time it returns.

Let's start when the Cackler is on the stack, when you originally cast it.

If no one has a response, it resolves. When it is resolving, you choose whether or not to have it enter with a counter. Assuming you do, it enter with a counter on it, as a 0/0, because of the Night of Souls' Betrayals.

At this point, state based actions are checked. The Cackler dies, but Marchesa will see it with a +1/+1 on it, and this process will repeat every end step.

5
  • [mtg:] card links don't work if there's an apostrophe in the card name.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:04
  • @GendoIkari They actually do, as of a recent site update. Or at least they did, very recently.
    – murgatroid99
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:05
  • @murgatroid99 They aren't working for me...
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:08
  • @diego Thanks, I see. Great to see that's finally been fixed!
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:20
  • 1
    It might be useful to point out that Unleash is a replacement effect, which is why the Cackler enters the battlefield with a counter, and that this is different from a triggered ability, like on [mtg: Bond Beetle].
    – Hao Ye
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 19:37

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .