Take this scenario: Someone rolled the dice and landed on Community Chest, passing "Go" in the process. They picked up the card and it read 'Go to jail. Don't collect $200'.

They argued that they should still receive $200 because they already passed "Go".

  • 28
    I believe the wording on the card is more precise. "Go directly to jail. Do not pass GO. Do not collect $200." This is talking specifically about the movement from the space where they are now to the "Jail" space. I.e. you do not move around the board to reach the Jail, you are transported directly to it. Example card Sep 21, 2016 at 14:27
  • 1
    italian version of Monopoly does not have this issue "Go Immeditaly to the jail, you do not pass GO in doing this". That means that if you draw the card after passing GO, you take $200 because you already drawn the card. Sep 23, 2016 at 11:56

3 Answers 3


Yes, they would still gain $200 from passing GO then landing on a square that makes them draw a card like this.

You collect $200 immediately when you land on or pass GO, then the player would continue their move and land on Chance/Community Chest, then draw that card.

The text on the card specifies that you cannot collect $200 if you pass GO (again) in the process of moving around the board from a Chance/Community Chest square to the Jail square.

  • 3
    Hmm. Is a roll like this possible? Assuming you were on Boardwalk (as close to GO as you could possibly start your turn), you would need to roll an 18 to land on the first Community Chest that is beyond Jail.
    – nasukkin
    Sep 21, 2016 at 17:23
  • 2
    @nasukkin: When you said that "you would need to roll an 18", did you typo that and actually mean 3? images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/…
    – Ellesedil
    Sep 21, 2016 at 17:29
  • 1
    Ah, I see what you were trying to say now.
    – Ellesedil
    Sep 21, 2016 at 17:33
  • 5
    @xQbert You would have to start on the Boardwalk side of the board, pass Go, pass Jail, and then land on the Chance / Community Chest in order for you to possibly pass Go a second time on your way to jail. So yes, the one immediately past Go doesn't work for this scenario. Sep 21, 2016 at 18:26
  • 7
    @nasukkin You misunderstood the question. The question is asking whether you collect $200 for passing Go before drawing the card. Put another way, does the card's restriction from collecting $200 apply to the whole turn or only the act of moving to Jail? This answer firmly indicates the latter, as does the card itself.
    – jpmc26
    Sep 22, 2016 at 20:55

Yes, the player collects $200.

To understand this, let's step through each action the player takes.

  • First, the player passes GO during normal movement of his/her token. The GO square reads:

    Collect $200.00 salary as you pass GO

    Read plainly, this means the player collects the $200 the moment the player's token reaches GO while moving around the board. See: If you pass GO, do you collect 200 at the end of the turn or as you pass GO?

    The official rules support this:

    "GO"… Each time a player’s token lands on or passes over GO, whether by throwing the dice or drawing a card, the Banker pays him/her a $200 salary.

  • The card subsequently drawn from Community Chest reads:


    Go Directly to Jail


    Community Chest "Go To Jail" card

    The "do not pass GO, do not collect $200" is simply to distingish it from cards that state "Advance to <location>", which usually clarify that "if you pass GO, collect $200". In the case of the "Go to Jail" card, the player is sent straight to Jail without moving around the board (and potentially passing GO).

  • The "collect $200" effect for passing GO has already resolved, and the text of the card only refers to the direct movement to Jail and not anything that happened before the card was drawn. As such, the player does not forfeit the $200 already collected.


Technically, the player should have collected $200 before even landing on Community Chest. The text on the space says that you collect the money "as you pass Go", so the money goes to players passing Go as soon as they reach the space. If we really want to get pedantic, they shouldn't even continue moving (if the die roll indicates that they should move further) until they have the money.

In practice, it's unlikely that anyone actually picks up the money at the moment they land on the space, but the fact that they should collect it then still matters. They passed Go before the card came up, so they still get the money, because at the time they should have gotten it, there was no reason for them not to get it. The "Do not collect $200" on the card only matters if the character would pass Go after picking up the card, but before landing in Jail.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .