Having an item that can potentially defeat all locks seems to be counter to the natural flow of the game where the Investigators go from room to room following clues.

Once the Axe is found, the Investigators can go whereever they want, short-circuiting the whole adventure?

Is there errata for the Axe, or am I misunderstanding it?

1 Answer 1


It doesn't auto defeat ALL locks. Only those described as Lock Puzzles on the Lock card but not wiring or rune puzzles for example.

  • Checked the card. It appears we completely misunderstood it. We had it countering all lock cards (and none of the puzzles). Whoops!
    – Pat Ludwig
    Apr 22, 2011 at 2:27
  • Happy to help! I'm constantly getting things wrong! We just finished a game where we were using equipment card attacks completely wrong! 8)
    – Daniel Lim
    Apr 22, 2011 at 2:31
  • Us too. We just played the one game of M&M so far, but it was well received and I expect to be playing again soon.
    – Pat Ludwig
    Apr 22, 2011 at 2:33

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .