2

First off, let me preface with that I do know that +1 and -1 counters cancel out.

Now, the cards for this play are:

1 : Arcbound Worker(or any modular 1 critter)
1+: Hardened Scales
1 : Cauldron of Souls.

To set the field, all are in play, and Arcbound worker has 2 +1/+1 counters on it. (Achieved when it was brought into play, triggering Hardened Scales)

The question is, if I give the Worker persist, have it swing, and try to bring it back from the grave, does it come back with a -1/-1 counter and a +1/+1 counter, and an additional +1/+1 counter thus resulting in a possible loop? Or do the counters cancel out before I can say Scales triggers?

  • 4
    It's not a loop in any case, as you'd have to activate Cauldron of Souls every time Arcbound Worker re-enters the battlefield to give it Persist again, and nothing you described allows you to do this. – TheThirdMan Sep 30 '16 at 13:29
  • 2
    What is the actual question that, if answered, would help you determine whether the cards involved cause an infinite loop? That's the question that you should be asking. – Rainbolt Sep 30 '16 at 13:41
5

The Arcbound Worker will return with 2 +1/+1 counters and one -1/-1 counter on it, resulting in one +1/+1 counter after state-based actions.

Hardened Scales' ability is not a triggered ability. It is a static ability with a replacement effect, so while it is in play, the Worker will always enter the battlefield with two +1/+1 counters on it; the game will never see the Worker with a single +1/+1 counter on it before state-based actions or other effects are processed.

Therefore, when the Persisted Worker returns to play with Hardened Scales on the battlefield, the Worker will have 2 +1/+1 counters (from Modular and Hardened Scales) and a -1/-1 from Persist. State-based actions cause the -1/-1 and a +1/+1 counter to cancel out, resulting in a Worker with one +1/+1 counter on it before a player gets priority.

0

Hardened Scales creates a replacement effect. The event of Arcbound Worker receiving one +1/+1 counter is replaced with it receiving two +1/+1 counters. Once a replacement effect has replaced an event, it does not apply again to the resulting event:

614.5. A replacement effect doesn’t invoke itself repeatedly; it gets only one opportunity to affect an event or any modified events that may replace it. Example: A player controls two permanents, each with an ability that reads “If a creature you control would deal damage to a permanent or player, it deals double that damage to that permanent or player instead.” A creature that normally deals 2 damage will deal 8 damage—not just 4, and not an infinite amount.

Since the second +1/+1 is part of the replacement effect, it is not replaced. You just get two counters, and there is no loop.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.