3

Can I cast sorceries in combat phase, or only instants? For example, could I cast Press into service after blockers are declared to take control of a declared blocker?

  • 3
    Although you may only cast sorceries on your turn during a main phase when the stack is empty, there are ways to circumvent that: Quicken – steenbergh Oct 20 '16 at 14:48
9

You may only cast sorceries when it is your turn, during one of your main phases, while the stack is empty. So no you cannot cast them during combat.

307.1. A player who has priority may cast a sorcery card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Casting a sorcery as a spell uses the stack.

| improve this answer | |
4

Sorceries can't be cast during combat.

307.1. A player who has priority may cast a sorcery card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Casting a sorcery as a spell uses the stack. (See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”)

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.