1

In Blackjack, is the dealer's hand considered soft if he hits himself with an ace after dealing himself a hand which did not initially have an ace?

To clarify alternatively, is it only soft if his initial hand has an ace or is it always soft so long as he acquires an ace at any point in time (other than blackjack of course)?

2

According to this site:

Any blackjack hand that contains an ace counted as an 11 is a soft hand.

So it does not matter when the ace entered the hand.

1
  • There are enough variations out there though that I can't guarantee this version is universal - does anyone else know more? Oct 27 '16 at 5:51
2

This answer is yes, a total arrived at with an ace counted as 11 is a "soft total,."

This comes into play with the "soft seventeen" rule that reduces a player's expectation slightly (by 0.2%). This happens with a hand if a 1 makes it a 7, and an 11 makes it a 17. (The two starting cards might have been 3-3, 4-2, or 5-A).

Normally, a dealer needs to stand on a "hard" 17. With a "soft 17," that includes an ace, s/he must redraw, and possibly make a hand higher than 17. This increases the dealer's chance of beating a player who hasn't busted.

If a player has starting cards totalling 11 or higher (e.g. 7-4), an A makes it a "hard" 12, because if you count the A as an 11, the player busts.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.