4

I know if a spell that has been cast with flashback is countered with a regular counter it is still exiled, but what about cards that return the card to the hand like Venser or Remand or even a counter that returns the card to the top of the library like Memory Lapse?

Where does the flash-backed spell go then?

  • Did you read the pages you linked to? Near the bottom of the Remand one, it says "If you Remand a card with Flashback, the card will still be exiled.". – KSFT Oct 29 '16 at 14:52
7

A spell that was cast using Flashback will always be exiled, no matter how it left the stack

702.33. Flashback

702.33a Flashback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities: one that functions while the card is in a player’s graveyard and another that functions while the card is on the stack. “Flashback [cost]” means “You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost” and “If the flashback cost was paid, exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack.” Casting a spell using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.