0

When I have Terastodon in my library and an opponent puts it into play under his control using Bribery, who gets to destroy the three noncreature permanents, him or me?

  • 1
    See also the rulings on Bribery: 'You put the creature onto the battlefield, so you control it and any “enters the battlefield” abilities it has.' – Michał Politowski Nov 8 '16 at 10:20
3

When your opponent puts your creature into play with Bribery, it acts just as if they played it themselves (or, perhaps, put it into play from their own library). It's their creature, and the fact that you happen to own the physical card itself doesn't matter, except for some effects that explicitly use the word "own" or "owner". Terastodon does not have any of those effects. So it's your opponent who gets to choose what permanents to target and whether to destroy them.

If Terastodon dies, though, it will come back to your graveyard, not your opponent's. Once a card leaves the battlefield, then it does matter who owns the actual card.

  • A very clear and comprehensive answer. Thank you for that !! – Jacobel Nov 8 '16 at 9:13
  • 2
    @Jacobel If you find an answer that satisfies your question, click on the check mark next to the answer to accept it. You can always come back and change the accepted answer if someone writes a better one. – Rainbolt Nov 9 '16 at 14:50

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.