If I play a Bureaucrat and my opponent reveals a hand with a Curse card, does that Curse card go back on top of his/her deck? Or does it not count as a "Victory card"?


No. Curse cards do not have the type Victory. They just have type Curse.

(You can see this in the rules or by reading the card closely - although they affect your VP total, they do not have "Victory" in the type line, just "Curse").



On page 2-3 of the rules you'll see the various types of cards.

  • Treasure
  • Victory
    • Estates
    • Duchies
    • Provinces
  • Curse
  • Randomizer
  • Trash
  • Kingdom

Curse is it's own type of card and not a Victory card. On page 2, the explanation of the Curse card includes "card type, (curse, purple)

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.