If I crew a vehicle with a creature that has an enchantment that does something such as "Whenever enchanted creature attacks, its controller loses 2 life" would that transfer to the vehicle it crews? Also, would enchantments such as a +1/+1 counter move to the vehicle?

  • Fun fact: Insolence would trigger in this case. Insolence is an enchantment that reads "whenever enchanted creature becomes tapped, it deals 2 damage to its controller.", so tapping a creature that has an Insolence attached to pay for Crew cost triggers Insolence.
    – steenbergh
    Nov 10 '16 at 9:48
  • 1
    @steenbergh Also Night Market Lookout, which was designed to work either on its own or when crewing vehicles.
    – Samthere
    Nov 10 '16 at 12:02
  • 1
    @Samthere Merfolks are also naturally skilled in driving vehicles. magiccards.info/…
    – tsuma534
    Nov 10 '16 at 12:49

No to both. Crewing a creature doesn't cause he vehicle to be related to the creatures that crew it in any way unless the creatures have an ability that triggers when they crew a vehicle. Crew means nothing more than what the ability says; that you tap creatures to make the vehicle into an artifact creature until end of turn.

From the gatherer rulings on Smuggler's Copter:

Creatures that crew a Vehicle aren’t attached to it or related in any other way. Effects that affect the Vehicle, such as by destroying it or giving it a +1/+1 counter, don’t affect the creatures that crewed it and vice versa.

Also note that "enchantments such as a +1/+1 counter" makes no sense. A counter is a completely different thing from an enchantment. If you meant an aura enchantment that gives the creature +1/+1, this is unrelated to a +1/+1 counter.

  • As a further point, it helps to remember that crewing a vehicle doesn't link the creature and the vehicle in any way (unless later effects get added that reference creatures that crewed a vehicle creature this turn). Abilities can trigger between a crewing creature and a vehicle (e.g. Gearshift Ace), but there's no ongoing link between them. Creatures don't really drive vehicles, but rather turn them on and program them where to go!
    – Samthere
    Nov 10 '16 at 12:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.